Carmen Toulouse-Allspice

Prompt: Say Your Name
Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

bunny dollhouse

If I could rename myself, I wouldn’t choose Beezow Doo-doo Zopittybop-bop-bop. It’s not a lucky name, since according to the Huffington Post:

Beezow Doo-Doo Zopittybop-Bop-Bop, 34, was taken into custody on Sunday after allegedly attacking police officers at Evergreen State College in Olympia, Washington. He is accused of biting, punching, throwing rocks, grabbing an officer’s handcuff case and hitting him in the head with it, trying to stab a cop with a pen and running off several times despite being shot with a stun gun.

He changed his name back in 2011, from Jeffrey something, and since then he can’t seem to avoid clashes with the law. As someone who loves names, I am disappointed in Beezow. I expected great things.

I simply picked two words that I liked for this blog’s persona. “Fluffy” is fun to say. So is “Pool”. “There’s a new lifeguard at the pool.” “Let’s dip our toes in the pool.” “Everyone into the pool!”

My actual, real name is normal. It rhymes with other words. I could be either gender and a number of races. My ancestors were a varied and crazy bunch of lunatics, of whom I am very proud.

My aliases, and I have many, for online forums, games, email, websites, and so on, are a little more exotic, like Candelabra Periwinkle, Gosh Minipenny, Carmen Toulouse-Allspice— names tucked away for future use.

The house inside me has many rooms. Each room has a name.