When it’s an elephant

Prompt: Rely


Dear Wednesday,

There’s nothing like a sleepless night to fill your head with possibilities, as long as you don’t rely on your memory to remember the crazy or brilliant ideas that percolate in the head in the wee hours. I was careful the other night and wrote this down: “Alphabet. Every.” Would have been nice if I had elaborated a little. I think it had something to do with each letter of the alphabet having a character of its own which can act as a portal to deeper understanding of the patterns of life. Or something.

In a dream I had, I and a small group were assigned the letter “F” to discover. We were puzzled at the assignment, and started off with a list (for some reason) of fish that started with the letter F, like flounder and flatfish (is that a kind of fish?). Further brainstorming brought us to freedom and friendship, and we were well on the way to defining the character of of the letter F.

It made sense at 3 a.m.

In any case, I may use use this alphabet idea, such as it is, as a kind of writing exercise when I’m stuck for inspiration.

Meanwhile, may I present a few of my favourite cartoons, the first of which is tangentially related to the prompt, “rely”, even if the others then wander off on a tangent?

cartoon elephant sticky notes

cartoon elepnant in room

cartoon hippo in room


Peace, love, and friendship,

~~FP

Leave a comment