My life and times? No, thanks.

Prompt: This Is Your Life
If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

late bloomer

My life. Hmm.

There is a lot I would love to relive, much I would like to relive and react differently, and a fair bit I would not want to repeat or be reminded about.

Would love to relive: the travel times. Never feel quite so alive as when I am entranced and challenged by a new place or culture. Yet I don’t travel any more.

Relive and react differently: a lot of my 20’s. I was a late bloomer, and should have figured out most of the confusing stuff by my early 20s. But I was just coming into my own then, feeling my power, and making tons of mistakes, inadvertently, and not always acting wisely.

Would not want to repeat or be reminded about: my early high school years. Nightmarish. Ugly, awkward, grossly shy, gangly, poor, and friendless.

This book would presumably contain details of my future. While there are undoubtedly things to look forward to, losing people is not one of them.

So, thanks, but I think I’ll pass on the book. Which doesn’t mean it won’t be a best seller.