Gritty Meatballs

Prompt: Visceral


Dear Wednesday,

I admit, my reaction was visceral, from the gut, when I was informed that we would have four guests, three of whom I’ve never met, staying with us for over a week while they attend an athletic event (as participants). I’m still recovering from family reunion week, for heaven’s sake (and recovery realizations are pretty glorious… intently savouring every quiet moment of no-one-else-ville).

We all need to learn to control such reactions, or at least not to trust them, necessarily. My reaction was not instinctual, it was a purely selfish response to what I perceived as a burdensome lack of privacy. But was it?

They are lovely people. They train hard, and buy provisions, and are charmingly appreciative (the English accents don’t hurt).

Now they are visiting friends overnight, and I was astonished how much I missed them. The house suddenly seemed a lonely cave.

I also admit I am confused.

Allow me to present a few of my favourite cartoons, the first of which is tangentially related to today’s Daily Prompt, visceral

cartoon art sucks


cartoon gritty meatballs


cartoon send more roc


Savour every moment!

~~FP

Leave a Reply

