Just a Hint of Lime

Prompt: Champion


Since the Chicago Cubs won the 2016 World Series, which was one of the best nights of my existence, my life has lost all meaning. I was comfortable, content, smug, superior, self-congratulatory, and happy in my role as die-hard supporter of the greatest underdogs in baseball history. The Cubs previously won the World Series in 1908, you see, and that is more than a dry spell, that is lying for millennia in the desert at mid-day with your tongue hanging out. Then 2016 and the skies opened and the desert bloomed and my identity skidded into the ditch like a Harley in a rainstorm.

The upside, besides YAY!, is that so many people, of so many generations of Cubs’ fans, have said, “If only the Cubbies would win a World Series before I die”. And many passed away cruelly unfulfilled. Now, however, since 2016, people can die in peace. I am sincerely curious about the number of deaths in the months following the win, compared to other years.

Instead of dwelling on dreams fulfilled and life’s meaning erased, let’s have a look at a few of my favourite cartoons, the first of which is only tenuously related to today’s prompt, Champion:

cartoon baseball symphony


 

cartoon dog food and lime water


cartoon bees outside


Have a happy week!

~~FP

2 thoughts on “Just a Hint of Lime

  1. If only my team ( Saints- Aussie rules football) would win a premiership before I die…I’ve sen 4 Grand Finals and 4 losses😞Heartbreaking…
    Love the cartoon, John the bees go on the outside! 😂😂😂😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

