Exhale

Prompt: Exhale
Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright.

Apollo-Butterfly

Have you ever had a biopsy?

Cancer is probably one of the most dreaded words in the English language, despite the great advances that have been made, and the number of cancer survivors who live healthy and normal lives.

But the word still makes a body shudder.

So yes, I had a biopsy, and you have to wait for the results. I wasn’t working at the time and spent my days walking, cooking, reading… quiet pursuits, wherein I had time to think about my future, if I had one, if the test came back positive for malignant cancer.

Strangely, I wasn’t upset. I got double wrapped in my own feelings, watching my thoughts drift by, lingering over some and discarding others, and monitoring my reactions. I was completely immersed in myself, but oddly disconnected too.

I realized how highly personal death is.

The test came back negative. Exhale. It took a day or two for the fog to lift.

Leave a Reply

