All the Gadgets

Prompt: Pick Your Gadget
Your local electronics store has just started selling time machines, anywhere doors, and invisibility helmets. You can only afford one. Which of these do you buy, and why?

jesus-and-child-featured

I want all those gadgets, the time machine, the invisibility helmet, and the anywhere door, whatever that is. Would that be a door that you go through and find yourself on the Greek Islands, for example?

Since this is a prompt and not a command, I can actually give myself all the gadgets, and I do. As a young, rather neurotic girl, one of my greatest wishes was to be able to read lips from a distance.What were my sister and my best friend talking about, over there on my friend’s front porch? What did my teachers talk about? And later: the guys. Who did they talk about and what did they say? The guy that rejected me, the big crush I fantasized about but never really knew: what was he really like, at home with his family, for example?

So I’ll don the invisibility helmet and hope aboard the time machine and visit those times past, knowing full well that I will be surprised and sorely disappointed, probably, that so many of those suspicious conversations did not include me as a topic.

I also always wanted to go back to biblical times, and see if Jesus was actually a cool guy, as he was described in Sunday School. Or to Liverpool, and meet the Beatles just before they formed the band. Also, go back and tell that guy at that party that his dick was an awesome size. Tell my home ec teacher to fuck off. Learn mathematics as a small child, and become a prodigy. Learn to read music. And so on.

After all that activity I will be exhausted. I need a break. In the sunshine. So guess what gadget I’ll use next?

Leave a Reply

