Everything and Nothing

Prompt: Everything Changes

Walking down the street, you encounter a folded piece of paper on the sidewalk. You pick it up and read it and immediately, your life has changed. Describe this experience.

blue-grunge-paint-background

The note said, “I’m sorry.”

The was a cold drizzle of rain, and the dampness caused the ink in the note to blotch and run, until it was a smear of blue and black. I crumpled it up and stuffed it into my pocket.

I knew there would be an apology, sometime. Not all the misfortunes in my life and in the world were my fault, or the world’s. How many times in life had I apologized, meaning it sincerely and remorsefully? How is it that no one every told me, or the world, that they were sorry?

There was a hole in my shoe, it seemed, and I could feel the water soak through my socks and chill my foot. I picked up the pace. I felt the damp, crumpled note in my pocket. The ink stained my fingers.

Leave a Reply

